The Spoon Theory: What fatigue is like for the chronically ill

Photo credit: shopsweetlulu.com
Photo credit: shopsweetlulu.com

I’ll be honest:  Continual fatigue is a tough symptom for me to accept, because I have a hard time believing that I can’t/ shouldn’t completely ignore it and 100% push through it.  I mean, don’t we often hear about doing anything we want if we try hard enough and believe in ourselves and really, really want it?  This lie, the idea that we can control our destiny, is a trap I can fall into.

Just yesterday morning, I was tired of being tired and was letting all the recent media flurry about the dangers of sitting get to me.  I decided I’d walk around inside our house once or twice each hour of the day.  Good idea, right?  I mean, I’m practically going to be rocking “from the couch to a 5K” before we know it.  I decided to start with a bang and walked from our bedroom to the far end of our house and back, TWICE.  By the time I finished, my blood pressure was so low it was undetectable (probably 80/50), but I did it and didn’t feel too bad.  Yeah!  I’m on my way!

Three hours later, I was completely worn out and felt like I could hardly move. (Vat of caramel, anyone?)  I guess fatigue is a real symptom, one that I cannot simply outwit or ignore or pretend to be untrue.

Sufferers of MS, lupus, POTS, rheumatoid arthritis, cancer, Lyme disease, and many more illnesses tend to struggle greatly with fatigue.  I posted about fatigue here.  Now I want to let you in on a great way to understand chronic illness fatigue.

I hoped I could share with you the Spoon Theory in its entirety here but have not yet received permission, so far now, click here to read (it will open in a new window), then y’all come back now, ya hear?

The Spoon Theory is helpful for me to realize I won’t completely be able to do my pre-POTS normal activities, and I need to learn how to use and conserve spoons wisely.  I hope it’s helpful for you too.  All right, back to the couch!

2 thoughts on “The Spoon Theory: What fatigue is like for the chronically ill”

  1. I am so glad you are spending one (or more) of your “spoons” on this blog, Kristi! So thankful to know how to be praying for you specifically and how you are doing. Praying that God would help you manage your fatigue this week — whether that means totally taking it easy, or biting off a little bit each day, or relying on others more than you would prefer. May these 100 days give you insight into how best to balance activity and rest to combat your constant fatigue!!!!

Leave a Reply

