Blessings in a jar

Our family has been writing down blessings to put in a Mason jar on our counter this year.  I love it because 1) we are sometimes fussy and complaining, and it’s good to look at our many blessings; 2) we sometimes enjoy blessings… but then forget them; 3) we love looking back and being reminded of God’s active provision.

blessings

After all, how would we remember that Luke was “tankful that I saw A DEER” bounding from the woods as we were driving through Vicksburg Military Park one dewy, green summer morning?  How would we know that in 2014, Ella was thankful for crackers?  We love rejoicing with David that we had a car on 6/22/14 (and still do!– a huge blessing we sometimes take for granted).  And, yes, we are all rejoicing that a community group from our church just let us know they have decided to adopt us and bring us dinner once a week!  YEAH!

Your life may be really difficult right now… but I bet there are a few blessings around you that help point to God’s goodness.  (One of my blessings today was that, for lunch, I got to eat a hot bowl of leftover soup outside in our leaf-covered backyard.)  Your life may be fabulous right now… and I bet there are a few blessings around you that you’ll want to remember.

“Here I raise my Ebenezer; Hither, by Thy help I’ve come!”  (What am I talking about?  Ebenezer can be traced back to 1 Samuel 7, when Samuel took a stone and named it Ebenezer to commemorate God helping the Israelites defeat the Philistines.  The word itself means “Stone of Help.” And, no, I didn’t just happen to know that… thank you, Google!)  I’ve seen people write their blessings with a Sharpie on small stones, to fill up a bowl– love that idea!  How do you like to celebrate and remember blessings?  What blessings do you have today?

6 thoughts on “Blessings in a jar”

  1. So, we make some version of a “Thanksgiving tree” every November to focus on gratitude throughout the month (not just one day) — many of these have involved cutting out individual leaves or feathers or hand-prints — which has been cute, but time-consuming!!! This year, a genius friend suggested that I find a cloth tablecloth, get some fabric markers, and just write the things we’re thankful for DIRECTLY on the tablecloth! This has been SUPER popular because of the fun factor of writing on the tablecloth — and MUCH lower maintenance than ANY of our other ideas! It’s driving me a little crazy to have misspelled words on our tablecloth, but I am trying to choose a grateful heart for my thankful children. 🙂 Love God’s model of the Ebenezer!!!!

    1. I have always loved your Thanksgiving tree and am impressed by the tablecloth idea… esp because I can totally see that driving you a little crazy. 🙂 I’d love to see the finished project!

Leave a Reply

