All thy sorrows soon shall end

Who, as I have, has ever felt comfortless, sorrowful, and afraid?  Who feels alone, lost, and broken?

Someone Else knows just what that is like.  “For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but one who in every respect has been tempted as we are, yet without sin” (Hebrews 4:15).  Tomorrow is Good Friday, and it is so good, because of something so bad.  Our High Priest bore wrath, agony, trials, abandonment, betrayal, that His children might not have those things poured out on us for eternity.

I came across these prayer cards, filled out by the kids last year on Easter.  Their prayers WILL be mightily answered one day!
I came across these prayer cards, filled out by the kids last year on Easter. Their prayers WILL be mightily answered one day!

I’ve had the following lyrics taped on my kitchen window for a long time now, and I hope they will encourage you.  They are two of the verses in John Newton’s “Pensive, Doubting, Fearful Heart.”

Fear thou not, nor be ashamed,
All thy sorrows soon shall end.
I who heaven and earth have framed,
Am thy husband and thy friend.
I the High and Holy One,
Israel’s GOD by all adored,
As thy Savior will be known,
Thy Redeemer and thy Lord.

Though afflicted, tempest-tossed,
Comfortless awhile thou art,
Do not think thou canst be lost,
Thou art graven on my heart.
All thy walls I will repair,
Thou shalt be rebuilt anew,
And in thee it shall appear,
What a God of love can do.

Happy Easter from us to you!  (No, I'm not ahead of the game.  I have no idea what anyone will be wearing Sunday, but enjoy a 2014 pic!)
Happy Easter from us to you! (No, I’m not ahead of the game. I have no idea what anyone will be wearing Sunday, but enjoy a 2014 pic!)

Take a few minutes these next few days to meditate and worship.  And, most of all, I dare you to HOPE.  Easter is coming.

And let's be honest:  A pic of just the kids is way cuter.
And let’s be honest: A pic of just the kids is way cuter.

One thought on “All thy sorrows soon shall end”

  1. Amen, Kristi!!! I am not familiar with that John Newton hymn — thanks so much for sharing!! Take comfort in the Lord’s sacrifice and suffering today!! Praying for the Lord to help you know His peace today!!!

Leave a comment